Contact My Office 
District Offices
Perry County Office
18 W. Main St.
P.O. Box 9
New Bloomfield, PA 17068
717-582-8979 (fax)
9 a.m. to 4 p.m., M-F

Cumberland County Office
81 Walnut Bottom Road
P.O. Box 705
Shippensburg, PA 17257
717-477-0695 (fax)
9 a.m. to 4 p.m., M-F

Capitol Office
Room 105, Ryan Office Building
P.O. Box 202086
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2086
717-782-2894 (fax)

Legislative Audit Advisory Commission Accepts Audit of General Assembly’s 2017 Finances
Audit report available to public online
HARRISBURG – The bicameral, bipartisan Legislative Audit Advisory Commission (LAAC), chaired by Rep. Mark Keller (R-Perry/Cumberland), today voted to accept the audit report of the Pennsylvania General Assembly’s finances for the 2016-17 fiscal year as conducted by an independent certified public accounting firm.

The annual audit of the various legislative departments and service agencies revealed a reserve of $94,936,297, as of June 30, 2017. The audit was carried out by Boyer and Ritter LLC of Camp Hill.

“As evidenced recently, it is important to maintain an adequate reserve to ensure the independent and continued operation of the General Assembly in the event of a government shutdown, including one created by a budget stalemate, for example,” said Keller.

The full audit and report can be viewed on the Pennsylvania General Assembly website,, or at the direct link, Audits and reports from the previous 10 years are also available online.

“We strive to be as open and transparent with the citizens of Pennsylvania as possible about the findings of the annual audit, which are fully accessible and easy to comprehend,” Keller added.

Below is a breakdown of the reserves included in the audit (as of June 30, 2017):

• House of Representatives – $35,742,624.
• Senate – $10,566,857.
• Legislative Reference Bureau – $7,195,638.
• Legislative Budget and Finance Committee – $1,758,767.
• Legislative Data Processing Committee – $23,905,555.
• Joint State Government Commission – $1,089,189.
• Local Government Commission – $853,566.
• Legislative Air and Water Pollution Control Commission – $447,976.
• LAAC – $373,500.
• Independent Regulatory Review Commission – $1,790,044.
• Capitol Preservation Committee – $3,322,655.
• Independent Fiscal Office – $3,092,999.
• Pennsylvania Legislative Reapportionment Commission – $1,759,999.
• Commonwealth Mail Processing Center – $5,915,516.
• Center for Rural Pennsylvania – $612,800.

The LAAC was formed as a result of Act 151 of 1970. The commission consists of eight members, including a majority and a minority member of the House of Representatives and two public members appointed by the House speaker; and a majority and a minority member of the Senate and two public members appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate.

Current commission members include: Keller, Rep. Florindo Fabrizio (D-Erie), Sen. Patrick Browne (R-Lehigh), Sen. Lawrence Farnese (D-Philadelphia), Peter Barsz (House appointee), Jeffrey Berdahl (House appointee), Gregory Jordan (Senate appointee) and Ira Weiss (Senate appointee).

LAAC’s function is twofold. It examines the standards of audits performed under the provisions of Section 10 of Article VIII of the Constitution of Pennsylvania, and recommends measures for the improvement of pre-auditing of the financial affairs of the Commonwealth. It also reports annually recommendations and suggested legislation, if any, for the improvement of auditing in the Commonwealth, and particularly as it pertains to the Legislature.

Representative Mark Keller
86th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Andy Briggs
717.260.6474 /

Share |